Meet Nick & Ryley

We have some really amazing students here at Horizon.  Our community is small and tight knit, and therefore it is easy to get to know one another.  It has been a joy to get to know each and every one of these students over these past few months and we want to give you the opportunity to get to know them as well!

Therefore, it is time for another Horizon College Interview. Meet Nick and Ryley, first year students, roommates, and “college clowns.”

img_1551

Age:

N: 20

R: 21

Shoe Size:

N: 13.5

R: 11.5 or 12, depends on the day.

Degree:

Both: Bachelor of Theology

Hometown:

N: Robert’s Arm, Newfoundland.

R: Swan River, Manitoba.

Siblings?

N: Yes. A brother and a sister. I’m the middle child.

R: 4 older brothers.

Hobbies:

N: Board games. Reading books.

R: Hockey and basketball.

Favourite Movie?

N: A Walk to Remember

R: I want to say “Tangled”

Favourite Food?

N: Duck is my favourite poultry.

R: Food category or food food? I like Pulled Pork.

Favourite book?

N: Eregon

R: Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader of Facts

What did you want to be when you grew up?

N: Lawyer. Well, my dream was to be the Honourable Dr. Rev Lawyer

R: Electrician. President of the United States.

Favourite place you’ve traveled?

N: The most exotic place is Guatemala, but I love Newfoundland.

R: The Grand Canyon is pretty cool but I also went to Ireland. The Toronto airport is pretty cool, it’s a big place. It’s like the same size as Swan River.

Do you speak any foreign languages?

R: Bonjour. Je m’appelle Ryley.  Oh! Gracias Amigo. De nada. Hola.

N: Je parle un peu Francais.

What’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever cried about?

N: Nicolas Cage giving his daughter up in the Croods.

R: My brother giving me bunny ears in my cousins wedding pictures.

Describe your perfect sandwich:

N: Italian herbs and cheese bread from Subway.  Bacon. Cheese. Mayo.  

R: Ciabatta bun toasted. Mayo. Pulled Pork. Little bit of lettuce. Little bit of white onion, diced. Little bit of cilantro.  A beef dip is really good though.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

N: I was top math student in my grade 7 class, got a gold medal for it.

R: I once, in my rookie season, was third in the league for points in rugby.

If you had to eat one thing from McDonald’s for every meal, every day, for a week, what would you choose?

N: Apple pie, easy.

R: Junior Chicken. Cheap and delicious.

Worst injury?

 N: Cracked my hip bone, it was pretty minor.  

R: Tore my ACL in grade 12.

What was your first CD and when did you get it?

N: Newsboys Go, June 2008?

R: Relient K, grade 3, so 2004?

If you were trapped inside one giant food and the only way out was to eat your way out of it, what food would you choose?

N: A watermelon.

R: A pizza.

N: How can you get trapped in a pizza? You need to go with a calzone.

R: What’s a calzone? Wait! I’d want to eat a whole cow.

What does success look like to you?

N: Emotional fulfillment.

R: You are successful when you are not selfish and put others before your wants/needs.

Who do you admire most?

N: Chris. He has great integrity and I trust his judgement absolutely.  

R: Jesus.  I think Moses is great too. They’re both great men of God and you can learn a lot from them.

Why did you choose Horizon?

N: Great city, great atmosphere, great people and great teaching.

R:  It runs in my blood. My parents, brothers, and sister-in-law all came here. So I heard good things and it seemed like a pretty great school. I really like that it has a small family type feel, which is different than other larger schools. Here you get to know everyone on a personal level.

 

 

Leave a Reply

